News Department

Canada. He is also a frequent contributor to the Canadian Historical Review and other historical periodicals.

Geographic Decisions

The United States Geographical Board issues leaflets after each session and then at about four-year intervals a pamphlet in which are assembled all the decisions for the period covered. Such a pamphlet has recently appeared as the second supplement to the fifth report. It is, of course, a valuable pamphlet to save for consultation. Although many of these decisions have heretofore been chronicled in this publication a summary is here given of the items relating to the State of Washington.

Clark County: Friendly Reach.

Ferry County: Taylor Ridge (not Big Boulder).

King County: Bryant Peak, Retreat Lake (not Fish or No.

32 Lake), Wright Mountain, Youngs Lake (not Swan Lake).

Jefferson County: Jeffers Glacier (on Mount Olympus).

Lewis County: Allen Mountain.

San Juan County: Aleck Rocks, Armitage Island, Battleship Island (not Morse Island), Blakely Hill, Buck Mountain, Chadwick Hill, Davis Point, Deadman Island, Doe Island, Iceberg Island, Lookout Hill, Lopez Hill, McConnell Island (not Brown or Wasp Island), Mount Pickett (not Doe Bay Mountain), Pointer Island (not White Rock), Rosario Hill (not Stony Hill), Satellite Island (not James Island), Sportsmans Lake (not Sportsman's or Lake Tucker), Tiptop Hill, Woolard Mountain, Young Hill.

Skagit County: Towhead Island (not Rock, Tow Head nor Cypress Rock).

Skamania County: Augspurger Mountain (not Bald Mountain), Sheridan Point (not Sheridan's).

Whatcom County: Heather Meadow (not Austin Pass).

The negatives in parentheses are the names rejected by the next preceding name decided upon. In the case of Heather Meadow near Mount Baker, the decision does not disturb the name of Austin Pass but gives the adjoining meadow a distinctive name.