respective Commonwealths who made possible in the words af President Harding—'a new and lasting era.'" From these and similar initiatives in the Northwest the six first American monuments were sponsored by the following: 1—The Minute Women of the State of Washington; 2—The Mayor of Minneapolis; 3—Stanford University; 4—The "Poilus" of San Francisco; 5—Lafayette Lodge of Masons of Seattle; 6—The George Washington Foundation of Seattle. The National Guard of the State of New York subscribed for the seventh and the State of Washington has now sponsored the eighth one for America.

This announcement may inspire an initiative in other States. If it proves difficult to establish contact with the authorities in France or Belgium it is suggested that correspondence be opened with Professor Guerard whose address is given above.

Phi Beta Kappa Endowment

John D. Rockefeller, Jr., has accepted leadership of a national committee to secure an endowment of \$1,000,000 for Phi Beta Kappa of which the income is to be used for the promotion of scholarship in American high schools, colleges and universities. The accomplishment of this undertaking will constitute a magnificent celebration of the one hundred and fiftieth anniversary of this scholarly society founded in 1776.

Cowlitz Historical Society

The historical branch of the Cowlitz Pioneer and Historical Society, which branch contains members other than pioneers, met in the last week of February at the home of Mrs. C. H. Olson, of Kelso, and chose the following officers: President, T. H. Davis, of Longview; Vice-President, Mrs. C. H. Olson, of Kelso; Secretary-Historian, Mrs. Clara Burdick, of Kelso; additional Directors, Mrs. Hite Imus, of Kalama, and Dr. C. J. Hoffman, of Woodland.

Visiting Professors of History

The history staff of the University of Washington, during the Summer Quarter of 1926 will be strengthened by a group of visiting members as follows: Professor R. B. Mowat, Oxford, England; Professor Walter N. Sage, University of British Columbia; Professor William W. Sweet, De Pauw University; Professor Frank A. Williams, Phillips College; Assoicate Professor F. Lee Benns, Indiana State University. The Summer Quarter begins on June 15th and ends on August 27th.