FROM THE CONSTITUTION OF THE SOCIETY FOR SLOVENE STUDIES*

ARTICLE I: NAME

The name of the Society shall be the Society for Slovene Studies (hereinafter referred to as "the Society"; abbreviated as "SSS").

ARTICLE II: PURPOSE

The Society is a scholarly, non-profit organization dedicated to fostering closer communication among scholars interested in Slovene studies; and to promoting the dissemination of scholarly information on Slovene studies through the organization of meetings and conferences, and through the preparation of scholarly works for publication.

ARTICLE III: MEMBERS

Membership in the Society shall be open to persons having interest in any aspect of the scholarship dealing with the problems of Slovenia and Slovenes. Members engaged in scholarly work who have paid their annual dues are regular members and are eligible to vote. Sustaining members pay the same dues and have all the privileges of regular members except the right to vote and hold office. Student members shall be those who at the time of joining are involved in the active pursuit of either an undergraduate or graduate education. Student members are eligible to vote but pay lower dues; these membership dues are limited to the period of their student status.

Par. I: ANNUAL DUES. The annual membership dues shall be such sum as may be fixed by the Executive Council of the Society.

ARTICLE IV: MEETINGS AND CONFERENCES

Time and place of the Society's meetings and conferences shall be chosen by the Executive Council upon the recommendation of members of the Society.

^{*}The complete text is published in the "Society for Slovene Studies Newsletter," No. 1, pp. 10-12.

OFFICERS: 1978

President Rado L. Lencek

Professor of Slavic Languages

Columbia University

Executive Council: William W. Derbyshire

Professor of Slavic

Languages

Rutgers University

Toussaint Hocevar Professor of Economics University of New Orleans

Tom M. S. Priestly Professor of Slavic

Languages

University of Alberta

Irene Portis Winner Associate Professor of

Anthropology Emmanuel College

Secretary-Treasurer: Toussaint Hocevar

Address of the President: Department of Slavic

Languages

Columbia University New York, NY 10027

Address of the Secretary: Department of Economics

University of New Orleans New Orleans, LA 70122

Dues:

Regular Membership \$10.00 a year

Student Membership 5.00 a year